Sharing is Caring


Recently, I had the inspiration to write a cookbook. Call me crazy, but ideas were swirling and brewing, simmering and sizzling in my mind, and I just thought perhaps others in the world might share my passion, if I were to share some recipes with them. Please keep in mind the word SHARE. If you must, look it up in the dictionary, think about ways of using it in daily vernacular, and teach it to your children. Because, as it would appear, some dietitians just did not learn this word, never used it in a sentence and meant it, and have no desire to even stand next to someone who once shared. What I say has basis: when telephoning a certain ‘famed’ dietitian to request whether she would give my colleague and I some insight into how she came to be the author of several best selling cookbooks, and would she have some tips for us lowly pedestrian folks, her secretary was kind enough to reply to us that this particular author “had nothing to share with us at this time”. Oh, so I suppose her cookbooks just appeared to her in a dream, and that would be, in fact, difficult to replicate, unless we were just as genius as she. This, of course, would be humanly impossible. So, in the meantime, we are on a spiritual journey to find all the dietitians in the world who share on a regular basis, and give them a big hug, or hand shake, if they are not comfortable with public displays of affection. We don’t hold that against them, because, you got it, they share. And, in turn, improve upon not only the profession through knowledge sharing and dissemination, but also make the world a better place to be through their karma.

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Philanthropy, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

