“I Don’t Have Time To Exercise, I’m Busy Waiting In Line For My Ice Cream”


This is the scene I bore witness to over the weekend, on a sunny spring day in the city. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing more nostalgic than an ice cream cone on the first few days of sunshine to usher in the warmer weather. But, please, why would one wait for over 20 minutes for such an experience? Could one not instead do something else worthwhile, like go for a stroll in the park, or play football with friends, or take the ol’ bike for a spin, and then, when the line ups are less chaotic, indulge in a cone? I suppose what I am getting at are ones priorities. As Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs states, our basic needs for food and physiology need to be met before we think about “esteem needs” which many associate with exercise (in other words, a sense of accomplishment and well-being). I suppose what many of us do not realize at times is that our basic needs for food are already met by the time we are lining up for an ice cream, and maybe we should take a minute and evaluation WHY we are lining up for hours on end to on a sunny day that could be well spent doing something active to fulfill a need that is – in reality – obsolete.

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I Don’t Have Time To Exercise, I’m Busy Waiting In Line For My Ice Cream”

  1. Alison says:

    We use food for so many other reasons than physiological that I think we are completely out of tune with our body. People seem to find it much easier to create a joyful memory with their children buying an ice cream than going to play frisbee with them. The taking the kids for ice cream becomes a satisfaction of the “esteem” hierarchy because they feel their taking care of the kids, and can afford to get a treat for them. The modern day parent just seems to find this type of interaction easier than running around with the kids for 10, 20 minutes.
    I know you weren’t only talking about parents, but I have an ice cream store right by my house and I constantly see young families doing exactly this.

Leave a Reply

