A 38-Minute Meal Inspired By The Contents of My Fridge


Look out, Rachel Ray! Not only can a perfectly tasty meal be made in a short time, it can also be delicious and made from wholesome ingredients, conveniently found in one’s own refrigerator. Granted, some preparatory steps need to be taken in advance, but the end result is well worth it, and saves you from yet another night of limp white pasta and canned tomato sauce. Let’s start with the breaded cod. I went to the fish market yesterday and asked the good lady about the “catch of the day”, which led me to buy a nice cut of cod fish. I then bought bread crumbs, and eggs, envisioning that I would batter the fish in the egg, then coat it with bread crumbs and jerk seasoning, and fry it in sunflower oil for about 3 minutes on each side. And this is precisely what I proceeded to do. To accompany the cod, I hunted down some zucchini and tomatoes from my fridge, as well as a lowly shallot that had taken shelter in the corner of my produce drawer. In went the ingredients into a saucepan, sprinkled with some cayenne pepper and mixed dried herbs as they stewed over medium heat with a splash of white wine. For the starch side dish, I cut up 3 large russet potatoes (I believe they were from the winter forage) and boiled them (skin and all) in a pot of water. I then drained them, and mashed them with a spatula, added 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/4 cup of milk, some salt and pepper and fresh dill (which was not quite as fresh as the day I had bought it, but I had stored it in an airtight container, so it was still acceptable). Some carrots were also encountered and immediately cut up into bite-sized pieces. Et voila! Not a single can was opened, not a single microwave was used, and not a phone call was made to the local pizza place. I believe I can safely say that it was the most fruitful half hour I have spent in a long while!

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A 38-Minute Meal Inspired By The Contents of My Fridge

  1. kris says:

    yeah i think we should cook our own meal..
    coz by doing so we will know what we’re eating and how much our body needs..
    thx for the info..
    good post..
    cheers
    🙂

Leave a Reply

