All By Myself: Making Meals for One


In today’s day and age, many of us either live alone, or eat alone most of the time. The thought of it is depressing to some, but I think what is even more triste is “Deb” at the local burger joint knowing your first AND last name, as well as exactly how you like your order of fries done to a particular crispness. It’s nice to have friends, don’t get me wrong, but let’s pull ourselves together, man! Last week, at the market, while I was actually buying dinner for one, I noticed another solitary shopper, slightly burly, a bit battered from the long work day, and with a look of despair in his eyes, just hoping someone would nominate him to an episode of “intervention”, settle for a soggy slice of pepperoni pizza from the “deli”, which he paired with a side of potato salad. Please don’t assume dietitians are all WATCHING you, as you go about designing your dinner choices, but I couldn’t help myself in this case.

I implore all those solitary diners out there to find solidarity in the fact that although many of us “settle” for many things in our day, we don’t have to settle for a depressing, wilted meal. Instead, I may suggest the following options, which are easy to prepare and absolutely delicious! I can vouch for this, since both meals are ones I’ve prepared for myself on “dinner for one” occasions. Sometimes, inviting yourself to dinner means patting yourself on the back.

Steamed Asparagus, Oven-Roasted Arctic Char, and Fresh Spinach and Tomato Fettuccine

Spring Omelet with Fresh Flat Leaf Parsley, an Sliced Beefsteak Tomatoes

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

