Whole Foods: Freshly Expired


I admit, I am a Whole Foods (WF) shopper, but a disgruntled one at that. My relationship with WF is a frustrating one, because I know full well I am being manipulated by their ingenious ‘community market’ image every time I reach for my gluten-free, organic, locally made bread, or stock up on their home-grown apples, which are most definitely less expensive elsewhere.

But I pay for it, telling myself that I am getting my money’s worth, because WF stocks the freshest of the fresh daily, right? Why else are those young men gingerly placing apples into pyramidal structures every morning?  Come to think of it, staff are constantly restocking EVERYTHING.

Because everything is so expensive, I always get excited when I see the word ‘Special’ next to the bright yellow signs posted around the store. Today, there was a ‘special’ on smoked salmon. So I grabbed a couple of vacuum-sealed packages. Then, I instinctively checked the expiry date. Funny, the date was smudged off. On all the packages. Except one. 11/12 (Nov 12) it said: last time I checked, that was 14 days ago.

I might turn a blind eye to expired cereal that WF conveniently places in the front of the shelf for those shoppers in a hurry, or nearly expired yogurt on sale. But fish that has already expired by half a month? That constitutes a definite health hazard. Two words come to mind: listeriosis outbreak.

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole Foods: Freshly Expired

  1. Prabjeet says:

    You should make a complaint to the GM. Maybe they will give you some free certificates!

Leave a Reply

