The Best Bison Burger in Town


IMG_8867

Normally, I would share the recipe for this amazing patty, hand-crafted from all natural, organic, locally raised bison (or buffalo) meat, but it took my Mother many years to perfect, so she wants this recipe to stay in the vault. Actually, I’ve never been able to observe her make them to glean what the ingredients might be – she always seems to have them ready by the time I remember to look.

So, I guess I will talk about the benefits of choosing bison over other meats, such as beef or pork when the goal is to create a nutritious and delicious burger.

Let’s start with what the animal eats: bison cannot actually digest corn, so they are exclusively grass-fed, which means that they grow at a more natural rate, and have the opportunity to graze on open pasture with access to organic feed. Although such animal husbandry results in a higher consumer expense compared to other meats, you are supporting more sustainable animal practices by choosing bison. Not only that, but bison is leaner, so lower in total and saturated fats as well as higher in omega fatty acids, making it a healthier choice for the heart.

Bison has a lot of flavour, as many game meats do, which means you don’t have to add a slew of ingredients and seasonings to create a delicious taste. If you do plan to barbecue the burger,  I might suggest adding some onions and vegetable oil to create more moisture and help soften up the meat as it cooks (in fact, I think I saw my Mom throwing these into her mix from the corner of my eye). If you are trying bison in a steak cut, you may want to marinade it for at least 30 minutes in vinegar, lemon juice, or onion so that the acidity of these helps break down the protein bonds and tenderize the meat.

Serve your burger on sliced tuscan bread, add a dollop of lemon-pepper mayonnaise, pickle, tomato, and romaine lettuce (I also like using parsley, cilantro, or cabbage as an alternative), and dig in. I guarantee you’ll have a smile on your face.

I hope you enjoy your new culinary affair with bison by using it in your favorite recipes as an alternative to other meats. Bon apetit!

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Bison Burger in Town

  1. Steph says:

    Sounds great! I’ll try bison instead of ground beef next time.

    • danirenouf says:

      Great! I should also mention that you can get bison from your local butcher, but IGA and Whole Foods or Choices may also carry it from time to time. Because bison is cultivated through more natural processes, it’s availability on the market is more variable. I usually buy a decent supply of bison meat to freeze and use over a few months. Bon Appetit!

  2. Pingback: Tass Kabab and Why I Love My Oven | Four Elements Nutrition

Leave a comment