Ode to Greek Yogurt


IMG_9069

Like many other foods, greek yogurt has been around for thousands of years, but just recently popularized in the North American food repertoire. A good thing, too, since greek yogurt is remarkable in its nutritional benefits; per bite, greek yogurt is a significant source of calcium, protein, and probiotics, but is also low in sodium, fat and carbohydrates (make sure you choose the plain flavour for the lowest sugar content). And, as many other foods, greek yogurt was discovered completely by happy accident, which makes me appreciate it even more.  Finally, my son eats the stuff by the bucket, so clearly, I am tickled pink since he refuses to eat much else. As most things in life, good things happen when you least expect it.

Cue this salad and associated dressing recipe, which I prepared earlier this evening – an experiment with ingredients that resulted in a happy family dinner, where an entire large bowl of salad was consumed by even the most discerning of palates. I also think I made record time, as it only took me 8 minutes to prepare this delicious and healthy accompaniment. I hope you will share in my ode to greek yogurt and try this at home as soon as possible.

Salad Ingredients:

1) Bibb or leaf lettuce, one head, cut into bite-sized pieces

2) 2 stalks of green onion, chopped

3) 1/2 cup parsley, chopped

4) 1 English cucumber, diced or 1 yellow bell pepper, julienned or roasted zucchini

Salad Dressing (makes extra for another day):

1) 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

2) 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

3) 1/2 cup grape seed oil

4) salt and pepper to taste

Whisk the salad dressing ingredients together in a separate bowl or container with a lid for future storage. In a large bowl, combine the vegetables for the salad. Use 1/4 to 1/2 the dressing for the salad.

TIP: You can make your own greek yogurt, using a glass bowl and a cheese cloth (my grandmother and mother made it this way for years) by following this recipe.

Noosheh Jan!

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Culinary Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ode to Greek Yogurt

  1. Loretta says:

    Great recipe! Thanks dani

    • danirenouf says:

      Any time – I was thinking you could also use it as a marinade for chicken breast – the yogurt and vinegar will help tenderize the meat, especially if you are thinking of grilling chicken on the bbq.

  2. Jodi Edwards says:

    I repeat….what the greeks lack in fiscal responsibility, they make up for in yogurt!! Thanks for the great ideas! xo

  3. Babak says:

    I use avocado oil instead and I add a touch of tomato paste to it, mainly for colouring. I tell my friends it is the Persian Thousand Island dressing 🙂

  4. Pingback: No Eggs, No Milk? Yes, to Pancakes (with a Persian twist)! | Four Elements Nutrition

Leave a Reply

