Chahar Shambeh Souri: The Tuesday of Fire Before Norouz


Four Elements Nutrition

IMG_9187

Tomorrow marks the day when many Iranians around the world celebrate spring equinox, or Norouz (“New Day”). As much as I love Norouz and the symbolism, tradition and culinary delights that accompany it, I appreciate Chahar Shambeh Souri even more. This event takes place on the last Tuesday before Norouz and is marked by a tradition of fire jumping – sounds strange, but it is quite a lot of fun, and many a pant leg have been subject to some lapping flames on occasion! I remember when, as a child, I was finally allowed to stay up until it was dark and go out into our public courtyard where I could watch what seemed like hundreds of people jumping over dozens of small fires, drawn to its light and energy like a moth to a flame.

But why jump over fires on New Year’s Eve? Well, the belief is that by…

View original post 151 more words

About danirenouf

I have been a registered dietitian since 2003, and very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work in industry, clinical nutrition, public health, and private practice. Currently, I am extremely excited about pursuing entrepreneurial ventures which start with my private consulting practice and branch out into the food and culinary industry. I am busy every day developing my own food products and recipes, adapting traditional cooking techniques and incorporating new and innovative ways to prepare nutritious, delicious food. I am passionate about everything food-related, and aspire to engage others in "getting to know their food" - not all of us are cooks, or need to be, but all of us need to eat.
This entry was posted in Culinary Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

